2010: #36 – Dark Entries (Ian Rankin)

HELLBLAZER’s John Constantine must become part of HAUNTED PALACE — a closed-set reality game-show (think BIG BROTHER or SCI-FI’s new reality show, ESTATE OF PANIC) in order to deal with a supernatural murder of one of the contestants. He enters as a ‘surprise’ contestant and meets the other participants, learning that they all have secrets and that one of them must be ‘channeling’ poltergeists and/or be the murderer.

However, John soon learns that he is in fact in a game-show which is being broadcast only to the denizens of Hell, who have chosen him to be the next contestant. Now he has to figure out who’s the killer but also how to escape with his own soul in one piece.

Read more

2008: #32 – Exit Music (Ian Rankin)

Book #32 was Exit Music, the 17th book in Ian Rankin’s Inspector Rebus series. The back of the book reads: It’s late autumn in Edinburgh and late autumn in the career of Detective Inspector John Rebus. As he tries to tie up some loose ends before retirement, a murder case intrudes. A dissident Russian poet has been found dead in what looks like a mugging

Read more

2006: #109 – The Falls (Ian Rankin)

Book #109 was The Falls, the 12th book in Ian Rankin’s Inspector John Rebus series. The back of the book reads: When the privileged daughter of a merchant banker disappears, a search through her e-mails uncovers her secret life-and a bizarre correspondence with an on-line game player who delights in macabre puzzles. The first game was for the girl. The next one is for Inspector

Read more