2007: #102 – 16 Lighthouse Road (Debbie Macomber)

Book #102 was 16 Lighthouse Road, the first book in Debbie Macomber’s Cedar Cove series. The back of the book reads:

Olivia Lockhart
16 Lighthouse Road
Cedar Cove, Washington

Dear Reader,

You don’t know me yet, but in a few hours that’s going to change. You see, I’m inviting you to my home and my town of Cedar Cove because I want you to meet my family, friends, and neighbors. Come and hear their stories — maybe even their secrets!

I have to admit that my own secrets are pretty open. My marriage failed some years ago, and I have a rather . . . difficult relationship with my daughter, Justine. Then there’s my mother, Charlotte, who has plenty of opinions and is always willing to share them.

Here’s an example: I’m a family court judge and she likes to drop in on my courtroom. Recently I was hearing a divorce petition. In Charlotte’s view, young Cecilia and Ian Randall hadn’t tried hard enough to make their marriage work — and I agreed. So I rendered my judgment: Divorce Denied.

Well, you wouldn’t believe the reaction! Thanks to an article by Jack Griffin, the editor of our local paper (and a man I wouldn’t mind seeing more of!), everyone’s talking.

Cedar Cove — people love it and sometimes they leave it, but they never forget it!

See you soon . . .

– Olivia

I enjoy this series, because they’re like little soap operas in book form. Nothing heavy here, and nothing vulgar (not that I have a problem with vulgarity). I like how a different character is the focus of each book, but they’re all there nonetheless.

Page count: 377 | Approximate word count: 73,251

2006 – A Death in Vienna (Daniel Silva)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.